03072017CM0895 mState Senator John G. Mulroe supported a measure to return local control to community members by establishing an elected school board in Chicago. Chicago is the only city in Illinois without an elected school board.

“I cosponsored this bill because I strongly believe that school boards should be representative of the communities they serve,” Mulroe said. “This legislation will ensure that parents, concerned citizens and community activists have a chance to run for school board and influence the direction of CPS.”   

Currently, the Chicago Board of Education is composed of seven members who have been appointed by the mayor of Chicago and serve four-year terms. Chicago has operated under a mayor-appointed school board since the late 1990s.

House Bill 1774 establishes a Chicago elected school board consisting of 15 members. Members will be elected every four years beginning in the 2023 consolidated election. Under this legislation, CPS employees and contractors would not be able to serve on the board.

Category: News Releases

Working Families


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Office Info

Springfield Office:
Senator 10th District
127 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-1035
(217) 782-2331 FAX
District Office:
6232 N. Northwest Highway
Chicago, IL 60631
(773) 763-3810
(773) 763-3881 FAX